Today, NPP Candidates Vote For Ballot Positions

NPP Aspirants Ballot For Positions Today

At the party’s national headquarters in Accra, the Electoral Commission (EC) will oversee voting for place on the ballot for the national office candidates of the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP).

Evans Nimako, the NPP’s National Elections Committee Secretary, made the announcement. He said the election will start promptly at 10 a.m. and urged candidates to attend on their own or with the assistance of committed agents.

In a statement, he said that 48 people had been recommended to run in the upcoming national officers’ elections scheduled for July 15–17, 2022 at the Accra Sports Stadium in Greater Accra. The committee, which is headed by former National Chairman Peter Mac Manu, had held extensive discussions with the potential candidates and had looked into their documents.

According to the statement, Sammy Crabbe, Akwasi Osei-Adjei, Gifty Ama Asantewa Ayeh, Stephen Asamoah-Boateng, Joseph Ayikoi Otoo, Stephen Ayensu Ntim, Stephen Asamoah-Boateng, George Kwabena Abankwa-Yeboah, Prof. Christopher Ameyaw-Ekumfi, and Stephen

Vice Chairman
Rita Talata Asobayire, Nuworsu Ken-Wuud, Kiston Akomeng Kissi, Derek Kwaku Nkansah, Michael Omari Wadie, McJewels J. Annan, Ismael Yahuza, Danquah Smith Buttey, Edmond Peprah, and Alhaji Masawudu Osman are the contenders for the vice chairman position.

General Manager
According to the announcement, John Boadu, Justin Kodua Frimpong, Iddrisu Musah, Frederick Opare-Ansah, Charles Bissue, and Ramseyer Ahmed Agyeman-Prempeh are the candidates for the General Secretary position.

Collins Nuamah, Dr. Charles Dwamena, Yussif Tedam, and Eileen Mary Posch Oduro are candidates who have been recommended to run for treasurer.

Henry Nana Boakye, Daniel Nii Kwartei Titus-Glover, Eric Amoako Twum, Bright Essilfie-Kumi, Seth Adu-Adjei, and Nana Owusu Fordjour are candidates for the job of national organizer.

Female Organizer

The statement added that Kate Gyamfua, Ellen Ama Daaku, and Hajia Sawudatu Saeed were also given the committee’s approval as candidates for the role of women’s organizer.

Youth Coordinator

Abanga Fusani Yakubu, Salam Mohammed Mustapha, Prince Kamal Gumah, and Michael Osei Boateng were suggested as candidates for the Youth Organiser role.

Coordinator for Nasara

Abdul Aziz Haruna Futa, Issaka Muaza Kunata, Awal Mohammed, Sulemana Alhassan Atakpo, Abdul Rahman Diallo, Haruna Ismael, and Haruna Maiga are the candidates vying for the role of Nasara Coordinator.

The statement said that Abena Osei Bonsu and Klinsman Karikari Mensah Tumfuor, respectively, had withdrawn as candidates for the positions of National Women Organiser and National Youth Organiser.

The National Officers’ Elections process started on June 8, 2022, with the opening of nominations. It closed on June 12, 2022, and nomination papers had to be filed between June 13 and June 15, 2022.

The party then conducted a vetting of the candidates between June 17 and June 20, 2022, and released the vetting report, suggesting 48 people to run for the various seats.

Prior to this, each candidate was required to pay a non-refundable nomination fee. Applicants for the position of National Chairperson paid GH20,000; Vice Chairpersons paid GH15,000; and General Secretary paid GH10,000.

Young people, women, and Nasara applicants who applied under the special wings paid GH6,000.

According to the party’s rules, all potential candidates were required to present their biometric voter ID card from Ghana’s Electoral Commission.

“A prospective candidate for any post on the party’s national officers must be proposed by one member of the national council and seconded by 20 recognized and active party members. The seconders must all be members of good standing, according to the party’s statement.


After the voting, the candidates are expected to participate in a discussion that will be organized by the party to assess their qualifications.

ADU Ernest Kofi – Author

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: