Robert Lewandowski Wins 2020 Best FIFA Men’s Player Award

The Best FIFA Football Awards™ 2020 ceremony, held as a virtual event at the Home of FIFA in Zurich, crowned two household names, Lucy Bronze and Robert Lewandowski, as the game’s outstanding players on the women’s and men’s side respectively.

READ ALSO: Ghanaian Actor Waakye Graduates From Bible School (See Photos)

Poland and FC Bayern München striker Lewandowski was named The Best FIFA Men’s Player for the first time in his career. Likewise, defender Bronze is also a maiden recipient of The Best FIFA Women’s Player Award after rounding off an impeccable spell with Olympique Lyonnais in style before returning to England to play for Manchester City WFC.

Current Netherlands women’s national-team boss Sarina Wiegman was named The Best FIFA Women’s Coach for the second time in her career following her 2017 success.

READ ALSO: Rev. Owusu Bempah heat on Vim Lady for calling him fake prophet

Meanwhile, Jürgen Klopp claimed The Best FIFA Men’s Coach Award for the second consecutive year, having steered Liverpool FC to the English Premier League title for the first time, 30 years after their last top-flight success.

READ ALSO: Court gives EC go-ahead to complete Sene West Parliamentary election

As per the Rules of Allocation (art. 12), Klopp was declared the winner after a close race with Hans-Dieter Flick (FC Bayern München), with the outcome, decided on voting by the national team coaches.

Germany and FC Bayern München’s Manuel Neuer was chosen as The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper, while France and Olympique Lyonnais’ Sarah Bouhaddi capped her amazing career with The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper Award.

Teams of the year

Thousands of football players from around the world cast their votes for this year’s FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World11 and FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World11 selections:

READ ALSO: Watch How Kotoka Airport staff was arrested for stealing 10 smartphones

FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World11:

Goalkeeper: Alisson Becker (Liverpool FC)
Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool FC), Alphonso Davies* (FC Bayern München), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid CF) and Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool FC)
Midfielders: Thiago Alcântara (FC Bayern München/Liverpool FC), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City FC) and Joshua Kimmich (FC Bayern München)
Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus FC), Robert Lewandowski (FC Bayern München) and Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona)

READ ALSO: John Boadu asked Mahama’s children to join a street protest

FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World11:

Goalkeeper: Christiane Endler (Paris Saint-Germain)
Defenders: Millie Bright (Chelsea FC Women), Lucy Bronze (Olympique Lyonnais/Manchester City WFC) and Wendie Renard (Olympique Lyonnais)
Midfielders: Barbara Bonansea (Juventus Women), Verónica Boquete (Utah Royals/AC Milan Women), and Delphine Cascarino (Olympique Lyonnais)
Forwards: Pernille Harder (VfL Wolfsburg/Chelsea FC Women), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns/Manchester United WFC), Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal WFC) and Megan Rapinoe* (OL Reign)

READ ALSO: Google, YouTube, Docs and Gmail knocked offline – Details Here

The other awards

FIFA Puskás Award: Son Heung-min (Korea Republic) – Tottenham Hotspur FC v. Burnley FC [Premier League – England] (7 December 2019)

The irresistible solo run by the Tottenham forward was voted the best goal.

FIFA Fan Award: Marivaldo Francisco da Silva (Brazil)

READ ALSO: WATCH VIDEO: Fire Guts Kantamanto Market

Lacking the money to pay for transport, this fan walks for 12 hours, crossing three cities, to watch his team’s home matches. The Brazilian’s story received the most votes.

FIFA Fair Play Award: Mattia Agnese (Italy)

During a game, Agnese, a 17-year-old from Ospedaletti (in the Liguria region), saw an opponent fall to the ground and lose consciousness. He did not hesitate for a moment, rushing to the player’s aid, getting him into a safe position and ultimately saving his life before help arrived.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: